An abundance of opportunities

woman-happiness-sunrise-silhouette-40192A Joyful Pastime

When I was in third grade, my parents asked me if I wanted to enter the Los Cazadores contest. The contest had a few categories: you could either draw or paint a picture of wildlife or write a story about deer. My 8-year-old self couldn’t draw a picture to save my life, but I always enjoyed writing, thus influencing my decision to sign up.

Now, I can’t tell you how I wrote a story about a deer or how I ended up winning first place, but what I can tell you is this: writing is something I have enjoyed ever since I could remember. From competing in UIL competitions, to writing stories for the school newspaper and yearbook, I always look for an opportunity to showcase this intrinsic passion of mine.

When I got the assignment to write a blog describing what exactly a blog was, I became enthusiastic. Some people may have been uninspired by this assignment, but not me. Here’s why.

Build Your Portfolio

In this intensified world revolved around finding a good job that will aid you, standing out is a must. For me, writing blogs gives me a myriad of experience, while also creating different ways to present myself to a potential employer.

In the PR world, writing is a major key to success. By creating blog posts, I will become a conspicuous candidate for a job compared to my competition.

Showcase Your Personality

Blogs are also a fun way to let people understand who you really are. Because of essays and other formal writing styles I accumulated in college, I have recently felt like my writing has become very routined and bland. By writing blogs, I am able to express myself in an unordinary way that illustrates my effervescent personality.

Potential employers can use this to their advantage when hiring, too. Let’s face it, would an employer want to hire someone they wouldn’t want to be stranded on an island with? Or be stuck sitting next to on a plane? Nope. Let your personality bleed through this digital screen like your job depends on it, because it may at some point.

pexels-photo-57851

Your Own Digital Diary

Hand cramps. This was the reason I could never retain a diary when I was growing up, yet, I have always wanted to keep one. Typing has become second nature to me and keeping up with a blog is so much easier than meticulously writing in a journal every day. You can see how much your writing skills and life has changed through a series of digital entries.

love-pen-bed-drinking

Create Limitless Opportunities

According to dictionary.com, a blog is “a website containing a writer’s or group of writers’ own experiences, observations, opinions, etc., and often having images and links to other websites.” However, that’s not all it is. 

A blog is an abundance of opportunities all in one place. Whether you use it to your advantage is up to you, but in the meantime, that’s what I’ll be doing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

